Home Page
Alfreton Park Community Special School Learning together for personal success

Governor Information

Welcome to our Governors' section. 

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.

We have also provided a Register of Governor Interests and an Annual Statement of Issues for your information.

Who are our Governors?


John Glasby: Chair of Governors

Resource, Teaching & Learning, Pay & Performance Management Committee


Vacancy: Vice Chair of Governors (Equalities)

Teaching & Learning Committee


Cheryl Smart: Headteacher

Resource, Teaching & Learning Committee


Sarah Whitaker: Clerk to Governors


Clare Charlesworth: Staff (British Values)

Teaching & Learning Committee


Vacancy: Parent (SEND)

Teaching & Learning Committee


Francine Franklin: Co-Opted (Sex & Relationship, Medical Needs, Child Protection & Bullying)

Teaching & Learning Committee


William Jowett: Co-Opted (EYFS + H&S)

Resource and Pay & Performance Management Committee


Richard Sowter: Co-Opted (Finance)

Resource and Pay & Performance Management Committee


Kevin Dean: Co-opted (Pupil Premium)

Teaching & Learning Committee


Please contact governors through the school office or Headteacher in the first instance. Or email the clerk to the Governors.  Her email address is:

Confidentiality will be respected.

Governors Meeting Dates:

Governors Annual Statement:

Governors Impact Statement:

SGOSS is a national charity set-up in 1999 by the Department for Education. They recruit volunteers with transferable skills to become school governors.

School Governors - "We're the people..."